Still Life with Pears (a sketch)

We’ve been working on composition these past couple of weeks. In our most recent exercise, we started with quick charcoal sketches. The watercolour version is underway. It’s on my studio table right now (also known as my dining room table) and I’m about to work on it some more. It seems that when approaching realistic subjects, my tendency to obsess over details takes over, and finishing a painting is no small challenge and requires many hours of work. Satisfying work, so this isn’t a bad thing per se, but I would like to find a middle ground between my fun and loose abstract paintings and the figurative ones. Something to work towards. I’ll post the painting at whatever stage it’s at as soon as I have half decent lighting to take a photo. These are organic pears by the way, which greatly contributes to the artistic intention (just made that up).

2 comments

  1. rlbourges

    organic would make all the difference.

Leave a Reply

